Learn more about Worker’s Compensation
The New Jersey Department of Labor is comprehensive database which addresses all questions related to worker’s compensation issues such as benefits, timelines, employer reporting requirements, total disability, temporary disability and insurance coverage requirements. Helpful information exists such as knowing that workers’ compensation benefits are not taxable under the NJ Gross Income Tax law N.J.S.A. 54A:6-6. See more on the IRS website here. Additionally, to receive worker’s compensation benefits, by law, an employee you must be unable to work for seven days (including weekends and holidays) before being eligible for temporary disability benefits. Benefits are retroactive to the first day, and the seven days do not have to be consecutive. Other information such as pointers on the litigation process is discussed. For example, after the judge’s order warding you of benefits, the Workers’ Compensation Insurance carrier has 60 days to process payment. If you have not received payment, you may be entitled to receive simple interest on any delay in payments. Under statute N.J.S.A. 34:15-15 an employer has the choice to select which health service professionals to provide care to an injured employee. Failure of an employer to provide the required worker’s compensation insurance may subject the employer to a penalty up to $1,000 for the first twenty days and up to $1,000 for each ten-day period after that.
To learn more about New Jersey workers’ compensation laws and your rights, contact Mount Laurel workers’ compensation attorneys at Taylor & Boguski. Employers don’t always tell their employees about their rights. Additionally, they don’t always treat them fairly in terms of job protection. If you’ve been injured on the job, it’s important to talk to an experienced workers’ compensation attorney at Taylor & Boguski in Mount Laurel, New Jersey. Call 800-404-5299 or 856-234-2233 for a free consultation or contact us online.